Skip to content
April 22, 2015 / Maggie L.

Cream Biscuits

Cream Biscuits

I had a pint of heavy whipping cream that was going to expire in 2 days. It was originally planned for making mocha whipping cream for my green tea cake but no one wanted any whipping cream on the fluffy and airy chiffon cake so I had to google up some ideas on how to use up my 2 cups of whipping cream. The best part about biscuits made with cream is that no butter is involved and there are minimal ingredients, which made for easy cleanup as well. I got this recipe from epicurious.

300g APF, which I initially thought was way too much, more on that later

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 cups chilled heavy whipping cream

Preheat oven to 400F. Mix the dry ingredients together then pour in the cream and combine well. The title of the original recipe was cream drop biscuits so I thought that the batter would be runny enough for drops but this batter was like bread batter. However, the batter was so thick that I gave up using a spatula and had to mix with my hands and shape into a ball for baking. The recipe called for 2 1/2 cups of flour, with no alternate measurement in grams so I had to google the conversion, which was not helpful because every single website I clicked on gave different numbers. I just went with 125g to a cup ratio which gave me 300g rounded down for the equivalent of 2 1/2 cups. I was able to make 10 biscuits. They went in the oven for 18 minutes and they rose majestically too. I rotated the ungreased baking sheet about halfway through the baking time. They were very creamy and soft, slightly salty with a nice golden crust. It was so good freshly baked!!

Leave a Reply

