Skip to content
February 5, 2015 / Maggie L.

Strawberry Chiffon Cake- Chinatown version

Stawberry Chiffon Cake (T

Take 3. I think I finally got it. 3rd time is the charm!

The last recipe didn’t pan out well and I didn’t use enough cream. This time, I definitely overdid it with the cream, but who doesn’t like homemade whipped cream? So, everything was a success. Except I need a bigger plate to hold the cake.

I found a better recipe from this site with her weird measurements but ever since I got a kitchen scale, I am defaulting to prefer recipes with gram measurements instead of American 2 1/4 cups, 1/3 teaspoons and so on. My 160g is your 160g the world round.

160g cake flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

180g sugar

6 eggs (4 of mine were large, 2 were jumbo)

20g butter (1 1/2 tablespoon-ish)

20g milk (yes, it is hardly anything)

1 dash vanilla extract (1 tsp to 1 tablespoon, I eyeball it)

Preheat oven to 340F. In a bowl, sift the cake flour and then add in the baking powder. Separate the egg yolks from the egg whiles. Pop all the yolks and whisk until pale yellow. Whisk in the vanilla and half the sugar. Using a hand mixer, whisk the egg whites. Gradually add in the rest of the sugar to the egg whites and whisk until stiff peaks form. Gradually mix the yolk and the whites mixtures together carefully. Add in the flour, then the milk and finally the butter. this ordering felt weird to me until I reread the instructions just now. I was actually supposed to add the flour, milk and butter to the lightened batter and then mix in the rest of the egg whites lastly. Pour into a angel food cake pan bottom lined with parchment paper and bake for 26 minutes. Cool and set aside.

Frosting

I used about 3 cups of heavy whipping cream and I didn’t have a big enough bowl to comfortably mix it so I had to divide the cream into 2 bowls to separately mix them. Add in powdered sugar and vanilla extract to taste, about 5 heaping spoonfuls of sugar. Set aside.

Filling

Cut up a box of strawberries, leaving 5 nice looking ones for the top decoration. Cut the rest into small pieces. Set aside. With 3 strawberries left, I finally remembered I had an egg slicer I could use for cutting the strawberries. These slicers work so efficiently!

Assembly

This is the fun part because everything comes together. Trim and cut the cake so that everything is level. Cut the cake lengthwise in two so that there are two layers. Spread frosting, the cut strawberries, and more frosting on top of the first layer. Place the top layer and spread more of the frosting in a thick layer on top and use the remaining for the sides. Since I used an angel food cake pan, my cake had a hole in the middle. I filled it with frosting because I had so much but it makes it hard to cut into the cake so I recommend filling in with more fruit next time. Place the uncut strawberries on top and lightly scatter chocolate sprinkles.

This was really good. The consistency of the cake itself matches the kind you buy from Chinatown and the fruit helps make the cake lighter. I had an abundance of cream and I should hold back a bit next time but adjust that to your liking. This took about 3 hours to make but for a friend’s birthday or special occasion, I should definitely use this again!

Leave a Reply

